One Year Ago:  Breaded Pork Chops with Sage Cream Gravy

Two Years Ago:  Red Velvet Cupcakes with Nutella Buttercream Frosting

I’m not a big fan of the beet.  It was the one vegetable growing up that I truly dreaded.  However, my wife loves beets, and I love her, so I occasionally try a recipe from time to time that I think she’ll enjoy and I venture into murky waters of trying beets again.  A while ago we were having a vegetarian meal and I served these very garlicky, rich beets.  I have to admit that I enjoyed them.  Don’t get me wrong, I still would rather have most other vegetables, but my beet-loving wife thought these were wonderful.  So I present them to you, especially for those of you who are a beet lovers.  Plus it’s very easy.

If you’d like a copy of the recipe without the pictures, you can email me at intothewardrobe@hotmail.com.  If you’d like to be notified of new posts (about once a week), you can subscribe to this blog or follow me on Twitter @Dan65802.

INGREDIENTS:

4 medium beets, scrubbed clean

1 Tbs. olive oil

4-5 garlic cloves, smashed and minced fine (or pressed through a garlic press)

juice of 1 lemon

salt

DIRECTIONS:

Place the beats in a large saucepan and cover with cold water.  Bring water to boil.  Reduce heat and simmer until beets are tender (about 45 minutes to an hour).  You should be able to insert a fork into the middle of the beet easily.

Drain beets and run under cold water until just cool enough to handle.

Infused beets 01a

At this point I peeled the beets, but that’s not necessary.  Slice the beets thinly and cut each slice into eighths.

Infused beets 03

Place beets in a large bowl.

In a small bowl, mix together the olive oil, garlic, lemon juice and salt to taste.

Infused beets 02

Pour oil-garlic-lemon mixture over beets and toss gently, but well.

Infused beets 04

Set aside for half an hour to allow the flavors to infuse.  Serve at room temperature.

Infused beets 00

If you have comments or questions, feel free to contact me at the email address above or drop a line in the comments section.

Have a wonderful week and cook good food!

