Here’s a quick little dessert which requires no cooking.  It’s a variation on an old recipe called “pucker pie” but since Creamsicles have always been my favorite frozen treat, I was trying to replicate that taste in a pie and this seemed the easiest way to do it.  I’m pretty sure Creamsicle is a copyrighted name, so maybe I should change the spelling or something, but it’s not like I’m trying to sell the recipe, so don’t think the intellectual property police are going to come knocking on my door.

There’s not much of a recipe, but if you’d like a copy without the pictures, email me at intothewardrobe@hotmail.com.  You can follow my blog for updates on postings, or follow me on Twitter @Dan65802

INGREDIENTS:

1 small container of Cool Whip whipped topping (used to love this stuff as a kid, only use it for these type of recipes now)

1 small can sweetened condensed milk (my grandfather used to drink this stuff from the can)

1 6oz. (or half of a 12oz.) container of frozen orange juice concentrate (It’s hard to find those smaller cans.  Using frozen lemonade concentrate would make this “pucker pie”.)

a couple drops each of red and yellow food coloring (optional)

1 pre-made graham cracker pie crust

DIRECTIONS:

Real simple.  In a large bowl, combine the Cool Whip, sweetened condensed milk, and frozen orange juice concentrate until completely mixed and smooth.  You can add the food coloring if you like to give it more of an orange color.  Then pour this mixture into the pie crust.

Creamsicle Pie 1

Place the pie in the freezer overnight until set.

Creamsicle Pie 2

Slice and serve.

Creamsicle Pie 3

It’s very creamy and really does give you that creamsicle taste.

There are other variations you could try.  Any frozen concentrate juice could be used, I suppose.  If you’ve got a different idea, let me know.  Maybe I’ll give it a try!  You can comment, suggest or question by sending me an email at the address above or drop a line in the comments section.

God bless!

