One Year Ago: Corn Chip Chili, Tuscan Farro and Bean Soup, Turkey Turnovers

This is a very simple dessert that has been sitting in my computer for a while.  I had a couple of hours free this afternoon, I had all the ingredients, and we had a little get together at the church tonight, so I threw these together.  One of the very nice ladies in our church (one of my former board members) really loved them (in fact she took some home for her kids).  So I thought I’d throw it up on the food blog.  It’s, um, not health food.  It’s basically crackers, chocolate and that sacred mixture of butter, brown sugar and vanilla (thank you to the ancient patriarchs at Toll House).

If you’d like a copy of the recipe without the pictures, please email me at intothewardrobe@hotmail.com.  If you’d like updates when there are new posts, you can subscribe or follow me on Twitter @Dan65802.

INGREDIENTS:

1 sleeve of saltine crackers (I had 38 in mine and added a couple to make a perfect rectangle.)

1 cup unsalted butter

1 cup dark brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

12oz. quality dark chocolate (50% or greater), chopped (I used Ghirardelli bittersweet chips that I still had leftover from when I made my dark chocolate hot fudge.)

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a 12 x 17 inch jelly roll pan with foil (I used the nonstick foil and was thankful). Place saltine crackers salt side up and side-by-side in the pan as tightly as possible without overlapping.

Chocolate Cracklin' 01

Use saltine pieces to fill any gaps at the bottom of the pan. (I probably should have done this and kept the crackers from sliding around.)  Set aside. In a medium saucepan melt butter over medium heat stirring frequently with a spatula.

Chocolate Cracklin' 02

Once butter has melted, add brown sugar and vanilla stirring to combine. Cook for about 5 minutes or until mixture is an even dark brown color and has begun to bubble.

Chocolate Cracklin' 03

Remove from heat and pour over saltines using spatula to spread sauce. 

Chocolate Cracklin' 04

Place crackers in oven.  While crackers are baking, melt the chocolate in a double boiler or in the microwave.

Chocolate Cracklin' 05

Bake crackers for 5 minutes or until butter mixture begins to bubble.

Chocolate Cracklin' 06a

(Here’s where the crackers separated a little bit because I hadn’t filled in the gaps, so I had to skootch them closer together.)

Sprinkle the chocolate evenly over the crackers and spread so all of the crackers are completely covered.

Chocolate Cracklin' 07

(Looking back, I probably could have saved a step and instead of melting the chocolate before hand, I probably could have just sprinkled the chopped chocolate on the crackers after they came out of the oven, put them back in the oven for one minute and then spread the chocolate.)

Refrigerate until chocolate sets and hardens.

Chocolate Cracklin' 07a

Break apart  with a spatula and serve.

Chocolate Cracklin' 00

I usually don’t put such simple dishes up here on the blog, but this was crazy easy and crazy good.  You could probably use a semisweet chocolate, but I wouldn’t go to a milk chocolate or it would become much too sweet.

Speaking of sweet, we just celebrated Valentine’s Day and I want to publicly say, I thank God that He brought such a sweet lady into my life to be my wife, friend, and partner in service.  She is beautiful, intelligent and forgiving.  I definitely married up.

