Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve posted a recipe.  We had a busy couple of weeks here in our household.  We had a new nephew born, Holy Week services (I’m a pastor) and tax time all vied for attention and I’m afraid recipe posts (and even cooking) had to take a back seat.  Things are starting to return to a sense of normalcy (although I still haven’t figured out what normal is).  So I thought I’d try to get a recipe up before I hit the sack for the night.

I attempted this recipe a couple of times.  The first time was not quite successful, but it had enough promise for a second attempt.  I got the recipe for the sauce from one of those copycat websites and added it to some ideas from my molasses-glazed spareribs recipe.  I think the results turned out pretty well.

The glaze is a mock up of that wonderfully sweet and slightly spicy Jack Daniels sauce you get at TGIFridays that’s slathered over burgers, ribs, chicken, and possibly chocolate cake.  This copycat recipe (recipes cannot be copyrighted, by the way) comes pretty close to the actual Jack Daniels sauce.  It’s not a sauce you want to use too often.  There’s a serious amount of sugar in this sauce and it basically changes a perfectly innocent protein into some delicious yet dangerous entree-dessert hybrid.  I don’t mean to scare you off of this recipe.  There’s a reason it’s a big seller at restaurants that think hanging a skateboard and a giant bowling pin on the wall is cool.  It’s a very tasty glaze, but I’m pretty sure it’s worth about of week of points on the Weight Watchers program.

If you’d like a copy of the recipe without the pictures, just email me at intothewardrobe@hotmail.com.  Be sure to subscribe for updates of new posts!

INGREDIENTS:

(Note: The recipe makes about a cup of sauce.  If you want sauce for dipping as well as glazing, I would suggest doubling the glaze.)

1 head of garlic                                        

1 tbs. olive oil                                           

2/3 cup water                                           

1 cup pineapple juice                              

¼ cup teriyaki sauce                               

1 tbs. soy sauce                                      

1 1/3 cup dark brown sugar

3 tbs. lemon juice

3 tbs. minced white onion

1 tbs. Jack Daniels

1 tbs. crushed pineapple

¼ tsp. cayenne pepper

3lb. baby back ribs

Salt and pepper

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Cut about ½ inch off the top of the garlic. 

Remove the papery skin from the garlic, but leave enough so that the cloves will stay together.  Put garlic into the center of a piece of aluminum foil and drizzle with olive oil. 

Cover the garlic with the foil and bake in preheated oven for 1 hour. 

Remove from oven in your deliciously smelling kitchen and let cool until you can handle it.  (I did this a day ahead and kept the roasted garlic in the fridge.)

Combine water, pineapple juice, teriyaki sauce, soy sauce and brown sugar in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat.  Stir occasionally until mixture boils then reduce heat until mixture is simmering.

Remove roasted garlic from bulb into small bowl. 

Give the roasted garlic a bit of a mash.

Measure 2 tsp. of the garlic into the saucepan and whisk to combine.  (You can use the leftover roasted garlic on a nice piece of toasted Italian bread and then go kiss your spouse.)  Add lemon juice, white onion, Jack Daniels, pineapple and cayenne pepper and stir.

Let mixture simmer 45-50 minutes until sauce is reduced by ½ and the mixture is thick and syrupy.  Make sure it doesn’t boil over.

Preheat the oven to 375º.  Place the ribs on a foil-lined baking sheet and season with salt and pepper.  (I like to pre-separate my ribs to get a maximum amount of glaze, but you don’t have to do that.

Coat the ribs with the glaze.

Roast the ribs, basting with marinade every 10 minutes, and flipping after half an hour, until tender, about 50 minutes.

I like to cook them a little longer because I like my ribs a little chewy.  We had four of us eating these 3 pounds of ribs and only had 3 ribs left over at the end.  The ribs were great and the finger-licking was pretty good as well.

Let me know if you give these a try.  If you have any questions, comments or complaints, feel free to add them to the comments section or email me at the address below.

Share good food with your family.  It’s a good way to show the love.

