Although I look out the window at a snow that’s been falling pretty steadily for over 24 hours, I realize spring is quickly approaching.  My days for weekly soups are drawing to a close.  Although I’m a firm believer in hot soups year round (and ice cream in the winter), the consistency of a soup night in the fall and winter begins to wane as baseball season peeks its head around the corner.

But I have a few soups I’ve made in recent weeks in my files that I’ll be posting even as the warmer weather finally reaches the New England shores.  I’ve called this corn chowder recipe “Ye Olde Corn Chowder” because I made it 20 years ago, while I was a student in grad school.  I had a very dear friend who was sick and I had clipped this recipe from a newspaper and went over to her apartment to make it for her.  She not only enjoyed it, but was soon feeling much better.  I then stashed the recipe in the pages of a cookbook and forgot about it.  I recently found the recipe again and the 20-year-old newsprint looked like some ancient piece of parchment that Nicholas Cage would go searching for in the tunnels beneath Mount Vernon.  Thus, “Ye Olde Corn Chowder.”

It’s a good, basic chowder with the simple tastes of corn, milk and potato with a nice warmth in the throat from the crushed red pepper.  It would probably be great with fresh corn, but this isn’t exactly the season for roadside stands selling native corn.

If you’d like a copy of the recipe without the pictures, simply email me at intothewardrobe@hotmail.com.  Don’t forget to subscribe!  All the other popular food blogs won’t let my blog sit at their lunch table!

INGREDIENTS:

2 medium potatoes, peeled, cubed.

2 tbs. butter

1 large yellow onion, chopped

2 10oz. packages frozen corn (it’s getting harder to find those old frozen 10oz. boxes of veggies, so I just measured out about 20oz. of frozen corn)

1 green bell pepper, chopped (red pepper would probably work well, too)

pinch of hot pepper flakes

1 cup half and half

2 cups chicken broth

½ tsp. salt

¼ tsp. fresh ground pepper

DIRECTIONS:

Parboil potato cubes until tender. 

Drain and set aside. 

Melt butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat and sauté onion until tender but not brown.

Stir in corn, potato, bell pepper, pepper flakes, half-and-half, broth, salt and pepper. 

Simmer 15 minutes.  Serve immediately.

That’s it.  Very simple and very comforting.  I served it with some store-bought corn bread and it made our winter night just a little warmer.

If you give this a try, let me know.  If you have any comments, questions or lactose intolerant insults, be sure to leave word in the comments section or email me at the office above.

Food doesn’t bring happiness, but sharing it often does.  Have a great day!

