This week I made a turkey dish I’ve made before.  It’s very simple with few ingredients, but it’s elegant in its presentation (although perhaps not when paired with potato pancakes, as I did).  I’m sure it could be switched up with different cheeses and vegetables, but I enjoy the Boursin brand cheese (even though it’s no longer made exclusively in France).

If you’d like a copy of the recipe without the pictures, just send me an email at intothewardrobe@hotmail.com.  You can also subscribe to get automatic updates of future blog posts.

INGREDIENTS:

 4 turkey cutlets (about 1lb.)

Salt and pepper

4 tbs. soft herb cheese, such as Boursin

2 cups loosely packed spinach leaves

1½ tbs. olive oil

15oz. can Italian seasoned diced tomatoes or stewed tomatoes  (I used stewed tomatoes as they’re a favorite of my beautiful wife.)

DIRECTIONS:

Pound the turkey cutlets ¼ inch thick and season with salt and pepper.  (Here’s before pounding,

here’s during,

here’s after.)

 

(Be careful not to pound it too thin, or you may tear the meat, as you’ll see I did on one of the cutlets.)  Spoon 1 tbs. cheese in the center of each cutlet.

Top with the spinach. 

 

Fold the cutlets in half and close with a toothpick. 

In a large skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add the cutlets.

(notice the aforementioned torn one in the upper left quadrant)  Cook until browned, about 2-3 minutes per side. 

Add the tomatoes; bring to a boil. 

Lower the heat, cover and simmer until the turkey is cooked through, about 10 minutes.

Serve immediately with tomatoes.

The only difficult part of this recipe is washing your hands a lot because of the poultry and making sure the turkey is neither under nor over cooked.  When you cut into it you get a nice drip of melted cheese and the fresh spinach which still should have a bit of a bite to it.  I served mine with some potato pancakes that I made from leftover mashed potatoes, flour, egg and chopped onion, some green beans and whole berry cranberry sauce.  Slightly reminiscent of Thanksgiving!

Let me know if you give it a try or if you have any questions or comments.  The comments section is open, or feel free to email me at the address above.

Let today be a day that lifelong memories are built!

