Here’s the aforementioned second soup.  I thought I had previously posted this, but I couldn’t find it.  Please forgive if it’s a repeat.  It’s another very warming, comforting soup.

Once again, if you want a copy of the recipe without the pictures, feel free to email me at intothewardrobe@hotmail.com.  If you subscribe, you will not only get updates on future posts, but also add encouragement to my efforts!

 

Ingredients:

4 tbs. unsalted butter                             

2 large leek (white and pale green parts only), thinly sliced (The leeks I got from Whole Foods this week were on the scrawny side, so I used 3.)                               

2 large russet potato, peeled, thinly sliced                                                 

2 14½oz. can vegetable broth

2 cup frozen peas (A great ingredient.  There was even an Iron Chef frozen pea battle.)

1 tsp. dried tarragon

1½ cup milk

1 tsp. salt

¼ tsp. ground white pepper

Directions:

Melt 2 tbs. butter in heavy large Dutch oven over medium heat.  Add leeks and cook until tender, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes.

 

Add potatoes and broth and bring to boil. 

Reduce heat; cover and simmer 10 minutes.  Add peas and tarragon.

Cook until peas and potatoes are tender, about 5 minutes. 

Puree soup in blender in batches. 

Return soup to pot; add milk. 

Bring to simmer.  Season soup with salt & white pepper.

Serve hot with crackers.  (I love that little salty crunch with a smooth soup.)

The soup is very easy to make and I also love the beautiful shade of green of the soup.  It makes me think of spring even in the middle of winter.

Let me know your thoughts if you have a moment.  You can email me at the above address or just leave a comment.

Have a wonderful day!

 

 

