I haven’t done a dessert in a little bit, so here’s one I did tonight.  Ever since Charlie mentioned it on LOST, I’ve wondered about Banoffee pie.  The pie is an English invention (although based on an American pie).  The word “banoffee” is an amalgamation of banana and toffee.  I found numerous versions on the web, some including chocolate and/or coffee.  I chose to gather a few ideas from several sources and created my own version.  It may not be authentic to my friends across the pond, but my version is pretty easy to make.

Feel free to subscribe to be updated about future postings.  As always, if you’d like a copy of the recipe without the pictures, just email me at intothewardrobe@hotmail.com.  

INGREDIENTS

2 cans sweetened condensed milk (I think they’re 14 ounces each)

1 premade graham cracker or shortbread pie crust  (The more authentic recipes I found called for an actual pastry crust although some called for a crust made with ground cookies and butter.  I didn’t want to put that much effort into this.)

3 or 4 large bananas cut into 1/4 inch slices

1 1/2 cups chilled heavy cream

1 Tbs. light brown sugar

Directions

DO NOT OPEN YOUR CANS OF CONDENSED MILK.  Remove the wrappers from your cans of sweetened condensed milk.  Place a wire rack in the bottom of a large pot.  Place your cans of condensed milk on top of the rack and then fill with water at least an inch or two over the top of the cans.  Bring the pot to a boil over medium-high heat.  Keep the water level high enough to cover the cans.  Boil the cans for 2 hours.

THIS IS EXTREMELY IMPORTANT.  IF THE WATER LEVEL GOES BELOW THE TOP OF THE CANS, THEY WILL EVENTUALLY EXPLODESo, check on the cans every 10-15 minutes.  If you’re easily distracted, it’s probably best if you don’t make this recipe.

Allow the cans to cool.  Through some sort of ancient British Arthurian enchantment, the sweetened condensed milk will have turned to a wonderful caramel-like dulce de leche. 

Spoon this caramel toffee into the pie crust and smooth out evenly.  Put in the refrigerator for 20-25 minutes

Arrange your banana slices over the caramel toffee.  (Note that in the picture below I’d only used 2 bananas.  You definitely want to continue using your third and perhaps even your 4th banana.  Otherwise the taste of the toffee will overcome the taste of the banana.)

In a cold mixing bowl, combine the cream with the brown sugar and beat with an electric mixer until stiff peaks form.

Top the pie with the whipped cream and refrigerate until ready to serve.

This pie is very sweet, but the combination of the toffee, bananas and graham cracker crust was very pleasant, and I’m not even a big banana fan. 

Let me know if you give it a try!  Have a wonderful and blessed week wherever you call home!

